Hilarious Trumpet “Bloopers”

These make me laugh every time. Posted by ex-pro trumpeter, Bill. I’ve selected the funniest ones, the ones that made me actually laugh out loud. If you want all of them, Bill’s original post is over here.

Hope you enjoy.

<snip>

The Hilarious Trumpet Blooper (and Other Funny Things) Archive

Hello. I quit playing trumpet about 10 years ago after about a 25 year career. I’m not trying to make fun of anyone here. I’m just glad that I no longer have to worry about having stuff like this happen to me every day. Someone just sent me the Hummel blooper which reminded me that I had a few others that always cracked me up.

After hearing them again after many years, I’m pleased to say, they still crack me up; so here they are for your amusement.

This is the famous piccolo trumpet duet at the end of a performance of Petrushka. It comes from an actual performance of the full ballet at Symphony Space in New York City.
Short Version (.mp3 632k)
Long Version (.mp3 3210k) (“In greater context, even more shocking and powerful”… N.Y. Times)

Here’s the famous try for the high E-flat in the Haydn. Still trying to figure out how to notate this after about 10 years. Recital recording.
Haydn.mp3 (753k)

A new one of the opening of the Hummel Concerto. Supposedly showed up as a pre-audition tape for the Boston Symphony.
Hummel.mp3 (832k)

Those cornet solos sure are hard. While most of us have probably been there, let’s see what happens when you’re not quite ready.
Shores of the Mighty Pacific.mp3 (867k)

Let’s see what happens if you kill off the whole half rack before your premier performance of Pictures:
Pictures.mp3 (276k)

Most musicians have heard the famous “Queen of the Night” aria by Florence Foster Jenkins. Here it is in case you missed it. Pretty hysterical.
Florence (1610k)

I’m not exactly sure what this is, but it’s certainly very festive even though the holiday season is over.
Trumpet Christmas (2220k)

Here’s the Vivaldi Trumpet Duo. I thought it was in C Major. One guy thinks it’s in C#.
Vivaldi(2620k)

Leave a Reply

