This Will Kick Your Brass: Respighi’s “Pines of Rome” by All Star Brass

English: Ottorino Respighi, photography by Mad...
Ottorino Respighi, photo by Madeline Grimoldi, 1935.

Pines of Rome (Italian: Pini di Roma) is a symphonic poem written by the Italian composer Ottorino Respighi in 1924. It is the second orchestral work in his “Roman trilogy”, preceded by Fountains of Rome (1917) and followed by Roman Festivals (1926). Each of the four movements depicts pine trees in different locations in Rome at different times of the day. The premiere took place at the Augusteo, Rome under the direction of Bernardino Molinari on 14 December 1924.

Here’s an amazing arrangement done by All Star Brass. (vid of the original below the ASB roster)

arranged by Kenny Wood
scored for brass by Phil Snedecor

All Star Brass Members:


Jens Lindemann
All Star Brass Artistic Director

Ryan Anthony

Mark Gould

Brian McWhorter

Phil Snedecor


Martin Hackleman


Alastair Kay


Alain Trudel


Glenn Van Looy


Les Neish


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.