Chapter 13: Home on the High Range

The rung of a ladder was never meant to rest upon, but only to hold your foot long enough to enable you to put the other somewhat higher. ~Thomas Henry Huxley

Chapter 13: Home on the High Range.

This Chapter Covers:

  • What is high range,
  • how to increase your range,
  • specific techniques for range,
  • basic range exercises,
  • range method books.

Terms to Know:

  • high C: A term used by trumpet players. The C two leger lines above the treble clef staff.
  • double high C: The C that is 5 leger lines above the treble clef staff.
  • set: The specific position and flexion of an embouchure to produce a certain note. Playing high uses a different set than playing low.

Extra Resources for This Chapter (click for larger images):

  • Figure 1: Note examples (p. 135)

click for larger image

  • Figure 2: Lip buzz exercise (p. 138)

click for larger image

  • Figure 3: Lip Failure Exercise (p. 142)

click for larger image

  • Figure 4: Pianissimo exercises

click for larger image

  • Figure 5: 2 octave scale exercise

click for larger image

 

Videos of some of the players mentioned in the chapter:

The Usual Resources:



4 thoughts on “Chapter 13: Home on the High Range

  1. Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Thank you so
    much, However I am experiencing problems with your RSS. I don’t know the
    reason why I can’t join it. Is there anyone else getting identical RSS problems?
    Anyone that knows the answer will you kindly respond? Thanks!!

  2. Hey I am so happy I found your blog, I really found you by
    accident, while I was browsing on Digg for something else,
    Nonetheless I am here now and would just like
    to say thanks a lot for a incredible post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have saved
    it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be
    back to read more, Please do keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

